Lancaster Skeptics in the Pub

A few days ago I put out a call to Twitter and Facebook to see if there was any interest in Lancaster for a local Skeptics in the Pub. Thankfully, it seems like there are a few folks interested. I have had some responses from other SitP organisers, with a few pointers and bits of advice and links to speakers. I have decided to give it a shot, and so wanted to announce that there will indeed be a Lancaster SitP.

Given that quite a bit of the local interest might be associated with the Universities, and the fact that everyone much prefers sitting in pub beer gardens during the height of summer, I thought I would aim for a September start.There are still a huge amount to do – I need to confirm a venue, start arranging speakers, and think about how to advertise. That means that everything that follows is very provisional, and subject to massive change.

I was thinking of asking The Park about using the upstairs rooms – they serve ale, the room is a good size and the owner was a physicist in a past life. It is easy to find, being on the main road in, on the Uni bus route and right next to Saint Martins. Oh, and I was the manager there briefly, and the once sister pub The Britannia. I haven’t been for quite a while, so I don’t know how it is now, so if there is any reason not to try there, please let me know.

I was thinking it should be a weeknight, although I don’t yet have a preference for which one. Again, please let me know if there is a good reason why, say, a Tuesday is better than a Thursday.

In terms of speakers, there is a good list hosted by excellent The 21st Floor of willing speakers. I will use this and any other contacts I can make through SitP organisers to try and generate a few dates. I also have a few others that I would like to get, but would have to see if they are available. I guess that we will mostly be looking at speakers who have got a book out or a particular subject of interest. I will try to keep an eye out, but if you can think of any people you would be interested in seeing, please, again, let me know.

If it gets going, I will probably need some assistance, not least with web presence – I have no real idea about setting up and maintaining a web site or anything.

If you can help with any of the above, or have any more information, or just haven’t abused a stranger over the internet for a while, get in touch.

@pixie359 on Twitter

pixie359 at hotmaildotcodotuk

  1. Awesome! It’s always great to hear of another group starting up. I’m a little far from Lancaster to offer much practical help (I run Reading SITP), but I have a lot of work contacts up your way so I’ll spread the word.

    Simon Perry (Leicester SITP) can set you up with your own page on the skepticsinthepub.org site. That’s really all you need to get started.

    • Thanks Gammidgy, that’s great. Spreading the word would be much appreciated, and anyone who is interested should feel free to get in touch with me.

      I’ll get in touch with Simon too when I get chance. I’ll have a look at building the site myself, but there are folk with skills around too if I need them.

      Thanks again, pixie359

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

